Embassy of the Philippines > Embassy of the Philippines DC >> News

News

13/05/2013: Final Call Issued to Filipino Voters in US

PRESS RELEASE
WDC-050-2013
12 May 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C.—With only just a few more hours before Filipinos go to polling centers nationwide for the local and national elections, the Philippine Embassy and Consulates General in the United States issued a last minute call to qualified voters to take part in the exercise by personally bringing in their ballots.

In an advisory, the Philippine Embassy said qualified Filipino voters in the United States have until 7 a.m. in New York and Washington D.C.; 6 a.m. in Chicago; 4 a.m. in Los Angeles and San Francisco; and 1 a.m. in Honolulu on Monday to submit their ballots.

As of 1 a.m. Washington time, the Embassy said close to 12,000 ballots have been received so far from voters across the United States. The number includes votes received from registered Filipinos in other countries and territories in the Caribbean that are now under the jurisdiction of the Embassy.

As of 1 a.m. of 12 May, the Philippine Embassy reported that 11,810 ballots have been mailed in or personally delivered by registered voters in Chicago (1,220); Honolulu (510); Los Angeles (3,634); New York (2,346); San Francisco (2,851); and Washington, D.C. (1,249).

The Embassy said it expects all US posts to receive more ballots until before the close of voting hours on Monday. ###